If you have photos and would like to see them here, Contact Us

Home ::
Album list :: Search

> Gallery 10 - Buildings

Filename=pic1d.jpg Filesize=148KB Dimensions=1024x780 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
Hotel HookerThe Hotel Hooker was built by Chauncey Simeon Hooker in the 1880s, and was considered to be the finest hotel and hostelry between Hartford and Providence. It boasted a fine restaurant and pool rooms. It benefited greatly from the city's increased railroad traffic. Note the passenger transportation stood on Bank Street, ready to take guests to the railroad station.
Filename=pic4b.jpg Filesize=100KB Dimensions=1024x570 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
European HouseThe European House, a building that housed a hotel and several stores, occupied the corner of Main and Railroad. It was built in 1861, and partially destroyed by fire in the early 20th century. It was again hit by a fire during World War Two, and demolished. Advertised on the Railroad Street side of the building are the City Drug Store, toilet articles, and cigars and soda.
Filename=bbb-a.jpg Filesize=802KB Dimensions=1008x566 Date added=Feb 28, 2013
European House - another viewThis one shows a bit more of Railroad Street.
Filename=pic4c.jpg Filesize=102KB Dimensions=708x1024 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
Dr. Thomas Morton Hills Hospital Dr. Thomas Morton Hills Hospital stood on North Street behind the building occupied today by Quinebaug Community College (Todds). It was built in the 1880s and demolished during redevelopment in the early 1970s. Hills was a noted surgeon, an expert in the swift amputation of limbs. Note the Methodist Church at the rear which stood on Church Street, and which was also demolished in 1974.
Filename=4-2-2015.jpg Filesize=248KB Dimensions=1786x1142 Date added=Apr 09, 2015
The Johnson House The sign says "Hotel Johnson" but it started out as the rebuilt Potter’s Tavern (known as “The Tremont”). It later became known as Young’s Hotel and then as the Johnson House. It was gutted by fire in 1915. The old Nathan Hale Hotel was built on this site.
Filename=pic1.jpg Filesize=164KB Dimensions=1024x643 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
Buckingham House The Buckingham House was demolished in 1909 to make way for the new Post Office. It stood on the corner of Main and High, and is pictured here in 1907
Filename=pic4w.jpg Filesize=126KB Dimensions=1024x622 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
Victorian homeBeyond its cotton thread and railroad links, Willimantic is also renowned for its magnificent Victorian mansions. Here's a view of a few of them, built during the 1890s on Windham Street in the city's famed hill district.
Filename=sl11.jpg Filesize=382KB Dimensions=1516x1047 Date added=Dec 12, 2013
Willimantic Savings Institute building in the '30sThis 1930s picture shows the Willimantic Savings Institute clock. The Hotel Hooker is on the far left. In the mid 1930s, the Savings Institute building was also home to “The Great A&P Tea Co.”. The next building to the right was “The F&W Grand 5&10”. Pic of the Week November 21, 2013
Filename=pic5.jpg Filesize=199KB Dimensions=1024x907 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
Gem Movie Theater The YMCA and the Gem Movie Theater were built in 1912. They are pictured here in 1963, shortly before the frontages disappeared below decorative concrete blocks.
Filename=pic6w.jpg Filesize=154KB Dimensions=796x1024 Date added=Feb 26, 2010
Eight sided house A Willimantic landmark! This unique eight sided house was built in the 1880s by a local carpenter named Charles Beckwith. It stood on the northwest junction of Summit and Walnut Streets in Willimantic's prosperous nineteenth century hill district. It was demolished in the late 1930s, and was one of the few octagonal houses to be found in Connecticut
Filename=pic6a.jpg Filesize=102KB Dimensions=1024x525 Date added=Mar 13, 2010
Youngs Hotel, Nathan Hale HotelThis photograph was taken between 1892 and 1894. It depicts the north side of main Street, looking west. The main building visible is Youngs Hotel. Young's later became known as The Johnson House Hotel. This was demolished in 1925 to make way for the Nathan Hale Hotel. Also note that there is no Post Office building (1911) or town hall (1896). But the building that houses the former Victorian Lady Restaurant can be seen (1892).
Filename=pic5.jpg Filesize=155KB Dimensions=1024x775 Date added=Mar 13, 2010
William Curtis Jillson House The William Curtis Jillson House is located on Route 32. It is pictured here in 1876.
Filename=earlybuild-johnson.jpg Filesize=112KB Dimensions=1024x705 Date added=Jun 12, 2011
Johnson HotelIt was built in 1854 and demolished in 1925. (Before the Johnson House, Young's Tavern was at this location. It was razed by fire.) After the demolition of the Johnson House, the Nathan Hale Hotel was then built on that site. What will become of the site now one must wonder.
Filename=earlybuild-a.jpg Filesize=70KB Dimensions=1024x526 Date added=Jun 12, 2011
Hebard Tavern The historic Hebard Tavern at the junctions of Windham Road and Pleasant Street, or the junctions of the old New London and Middletown turnpikes. It was built by Guy Hebard in 1825, and was Willimantic's first public house. .
Filename=earlybuild-tc-5.jpg Filesize=123KB Dimensions=1024x650 Date added=Sep 22, 2011
Filename=10-30-14-pow-a.jpg Filesize=749KB Dimensions=1440x1156 Date added=Nov 06, 2014
The Central Building - pictured circa 1910The Central Building stood on the corner of Center and Union Streets. It was home, over the years, to Woods Restaurant, Wood’s Smoke Shop, a billiards room, Potvin’s Barber Shop, Durand’s Barber Shop, a shoe repair shop and a variety store. It was scheduled to be demolished as part of Willimantic's Redevelopment Plan when a fire on Oct. 31,1971 ravaged the building and left 32 people homeless.
24 files on 2 page(s) 1